Skip navigation, view page content
Skip navigation, view page content

Begin OSU masthead and toolbar

The Ohio State University
www.osu.edu
  1. Help
  2. Campus map
  3. Find people
  4. Webmail


Ohio State University logo Web resources Meet the Staff

 


1590 North High Street - Suite 500
Columbus, OH 43201-2178
Phone: (614) 292-0611
Fax: (614) 292-8699

Meet the Staff

Listed below are the members of the Legal Affairs staff, their contact information and their primary areas of responsibility.  While you should feel free to contact any staff member for assistance, this list will help you to determine whom to call if you do not already have an established contact within the office.  You may also simply call the office at 292-0611 and you will be directed to the appropriate staff member.

Communications with office lawyers are protected by the privilege for attorney-client communications, and therefore are confidential, if they are made for the purpose of seeking legal advice on behalf of the university.   Such communications can be revealed only to other university officials, on a need-to-know basis.  Communications with office lawyers on personal legal matters (including matters against the university) or on non-legal matters are not privileged or confidential.  We may be affirmatively obligated to disclose any such communications to other university officials if the communications implicate the university's legal interests. If you are not sure whether your matter is university-related or a personal one, please check with us before sending us any communications that you wish to remain confidential.

Although e-mail communications are protected by the attorney-client privilege to the same extent as communications made by other means, e-mail is not completely secure.  We therefore encourage you to exercise appropriate discretion in using e-mail to communicate with us about sensitive matters.

1590 North High Street - Suite 500
Columbus, Ohio 43201
Telephone: (614) 292-0611
Fax: (614) 292-8699

 

Christopher M. Culley, Senior Vice President and General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.0582
E-mail: culley.8@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Board of Trustees, Major Contracts and Affiliations, Special Projects as Directed by the President and Provost, University Governance

Michael A. Mitchell, Vice President and Associate General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.247.8452
E-mail: mitchell.685@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Finance, Transactional Matters, Technology Commercialization, Office Administration

Alexandra T. Schimmer, Associate Vice President and Deputy General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.247.7249
E-mail: schimmer.1@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Leads the provision of legal services for the academic areas of the University, including faculty, student, research, and policy matters, and directs the University's state and federal litigation.

Ryan Meadows, Director of Strategic Initiatives and Special Assistant to the Senior Vice President (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.7593
E-mail: meadows.76@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Special Projects

Korenia Querry, Executive Assistant to the Senior Vice President and General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.0582
E-mail: querry.4@osu.edu

Leslie Carpenter, Executive Assistant to the Vice President and Associate General and to the Associate Vice President and Deputy General Counsel
Telephone: 614.688.8312
E-mail: carpenter.370@osu.edu

Stacey L. Bennett, Assistant General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.688.3496
E-mail: bennett.899@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute, Contracts and Transactions, Regulatory Matters

Lisa J. Conomy, Assistant General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.1504
E-mail: conomy.2@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Construction and Contracting

Anne Evans, Assistant General Counsel
Telephone: 614.292.0611
E-mail: evans.881@osu.edu

Suzanne Galyardt, Assistant General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.688.1341
E-mail: galyardt.2@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Development and Foundation Matters and Tax Issues

Mark J. Hedien, Assistant General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.247.1590
E-mail:  hedien.1@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Immigration

Erin E. Karzmer, Assistant General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.9004
E-mail: karzmer.5@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Business Transactions, Technology Commercialization

Daniel A. Malkoff, Assistant Vice President, Senior Litigation Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.9194
E-mail: malkoff.2@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Litigation Oversight and Management

Melissa Mayhan,  Assistant General Counsel for Public Safety (bio)
Telephone: 614.688.3165
E-mail:  Mayhan.9@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Criminal/Public Safety Law, Clery Act Compliance, Public Records and Contract Review

Heidi F. McCabe, Assistant General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.688.1346
E-mail: mccabe.162@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: University physical planning and real estate

Mary Menkedick Ionno, Associate General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.247.6795
E-mail :  menkedick-ionno.1@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility:  Labor and Employment Matters

Jan Alan Neiger, Associate General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.688.4117
E-mail: neiger.4@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Academic Affairs, Faculty Rules, Public Records, Regional Campuses

Erika L. Pearsol-Christie, Assistant General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.688.2114
E-mail: pearsol-christie.1@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Labor and Employment Law, Collective Bargaining, Managing Employment Litigation

Mary F. Schneider, Assistant General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.0611
E-mail: schneider.250@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: University Planning and Real Estate, University Hospitals Real Estate, Treasurer’s Office Endowment and Foundation Properties

Michael D. Steffensmeier, Senior IP Counsel and Director of IP Strategy (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.6482
E-mail: steffensmeier.5@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Intellectual Property

Wendy M. Swary, Assistant General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.7527
E-mail: swary.19@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Benefits and Tax

Julie D. Vannatta,  Senior Assistant General Counsel, Senior Associate Athletic Director (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.7743
E-mail: vannatta.3@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Department of Athletics

Kyong W. N. Wahl, Assistant General Counsel (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.7974
E-mail: wahl.93@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Business Transactions

Jourdan Day, Moritz Fellow
Telephone: 614.688.2314
E-mail: day.283@osu.edu

Benjamin LaGrasso, Moritz Fellow
Telephone: 614.292.3435
E-mail: lagrasso.1@osu.edu

Scott Mayland, Moritz Fellow
Telephone: 614.688.1343
E-mail: mayland.1@osu.edu

Patrick Noonan, Moritz Fellow
Telephone: 614.292.0611
E-mail: noonan.51@osu.edu

Kendra Baumann, Paralegal (bio)
Telephone: 614.292.6250
E-mail: baumann.91@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Contracts and Business Matters

Mark Lemmon, Paralegal (bio)
Telephone: 614.247.6772
E-mail: lemmon.31@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Litigation

Cheneé Mays, Paralegal (bio)
Telephone: 614.688.3060
E-mail: mays.27@osu.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Special Projects

Sonia Bishop, Legal Secretary
Telephone: 614.688.4117
E-mail: bishop.303@osu.edu

Jennifer DeVilling, Legal Secretary
Telephone: 614.688.1146
E-mail: deVilling.3@osu.edu

Carolyn Kwon, Receptionist/Legal Secretary
Telephone: 614.292.7909
E-mail: kwon.152@osu.edu

Tracy Manley, Legal Secretary
Telephone: 614.247.7077
E-mail:   manley.263@osu.edu

Caitlin Near, Office Assistant
Telephone: 614.292.0611
E-mail:   near.8@osu.edu

 

Wexner Medical Center at The Ohio State University
Legal Services
650 Ackerman Road, Suite 201
Columbus, OH 43218
Telephone: (614) 292-5062
Fax: (614) 688-8644

 

Jenny C. Barnes, Assistant General Counsel for Health Sciences (bio)
Telephone: 366-7897 (assistant 366-9437)
Fax: 366-7506
E-mail: Jenny.Barnes@osumc.edu

Kathleen N. Battle, Assistant General Counsel for Health Sciences (bio)
Telephone: 366-3743
Fax: 366-3740
E-mail: Kathleen.Battle@osumc.edu

Beth Bolyard, Assistant General Counsel for Health Sciences (bio)
Telephone: 366-7463 (assistant 293-0688)
Fax: 293-7170
E-mail: Beth.Bolyard@osumc.edu

Julie E. Chicoine, Senior Assistant General Counsel for Health Sciences (bio)
Telephone: 293-2007
Fax: 366-7506
E-mail: Julie.Chicoine@osumc.edu

Dan Mertz, Senior Assistant General Counsel for Health Sciences, Director of Risk Management (bio)
Telephone: 293-4296 (assistant 293-0688)
Fax: 293-6200
E-mail: Dan.Mertz@osumc.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Provision of legal services and risk management

Nancy J. Miller, Senior Assistant General Counsel for Health Sciences (bio)
Telephone: 685-4407
Fax: 688-8644
E-mail: Nancy.Miller@osumc.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Provision of legal services and risk management

Paula Luna Paoletti, Senior Assistant General Counsel for Health Sciences (bio)
Telephone: 366-7868
Fax: 366-7506
E-mail: Paula.Paoletti@osumc.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Litigation management

John F. Plant, Assistant General Counsel for Health Sciences (bio)
Telephone: 293-3987
Fax: 293-7170
E-mail: John.Plant@osumc.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Provision of legal services and risk management

Gaibrelle M. Reissland, Director, Compliance and Integrity (bio)
Telephone: 366-4726
Fax: 293-2084
E-mail: Gabby.Reissland@osumc.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Health care compliance

Leslie A. Winters, Assistant General Counsel for Health Sciences (bio)
Telephone: 293-8446
Fax: 293-7170
E-mail: Leslie.Winters@osumc.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Provision of legal services and risk management

Angie Blevins, Paralegal (bio)
Telephone: 366-7804
Fax: 366-7506
E-mail: Angie.Blevins@osumc.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Litigation

Cynthia Watkins, Paralegal (bio)
Telephone: 366-7898
Fax: 366-7506
E-mail: Cynthia.Watkins@osumc.edu
Areas of Primary Responsibility: Contracts and Business Matters

Mary Pat Schwing, Certified Risk Manager (bio)
Telephone: 293-6485
Fax: 366-7506
E-mail: Mary.Schwing@osumc.edu

Debbie Ward, Certified Risk Manager(bio)
Telephone: 366-7883
Fax: 366-7506
E-mail: Deb.Ward@osumc.edu

Mike Biggert, Business Manager (bio)
Telephone: 293-6482
Fax: 293-7170
E-mail: Michael.Biggert@osumc.edu

Marion Dean, Assistant to Medical Center Legal Counsel
E-mail: Marion.Dean@osumc.edu

Ruth Gibboney, Office Administrative Associate
E-mail: Ruth.Gibboney@osumc.edu

Virginia Luzadder, Office Administrative Associate
E-mail: Virginia.Luzadder@osumc.edu

Tami Smith, Office Administrative Associate
E-mail: Tamera.Smith@osumc.edu

Tammy Taylor, Office Administrative Associate
E-mail: Tammy.Taylor2@osumc.edu

Jen Whitney, Office Administrative Associate
E-mail: Jennifer.Whitney@osumc.edu

INSURANCE:
Lauri Andrews, Director of Insurance (bio)
Telephone: 293-6483 (assistant 293-6484)
Fax: 293-1998
E-mail: Lauri.Andrews@osumc.edu

Rita Writesel, Resource Planning Analyst (bio)
Telephone: 293-9891
Fax: 293-1998
E-mail: Rita.Writesel@osumc.edu

Kathleen Dozer, Office Administrative Associate
E-mail: Kathleen.Dozer@osumc.edu

 

return to top